Inventory

Priorities (Challenge week 02)

Hi there!

Challenge 02 Results

Another week has gone by, this means we have a look at my challenge as well. I really, really, did not succeed as much as I’d hoped in the beginning, here the rough data:

  • One small drawing [x]
  • Blogpost [_]
  • Anki every day [_]
  • Chapter 01 practices in Anki [_] (Almost done)
  • Chapter 02 practices in Anki [_] (Not started)
  • Chapter 05 Vocabulary [x]
  • Chapter 05 Extra- Vocabulary [_]
  • Grammar Chapter 05 [_]

As you can see, it’s really not much.

Reality Check

I could be disappointed in myself, I could be angry. I could feel like a failure and lose hope to ever get things done. But I won’t go that road. I can tell you instead what I did this whole week:

  • Finished two games on my backlog
  • Met two people I haven’t seen in months
  • Had delicious dinner
  • Had a busy week at work
  • Met new people
  • Had rainbow hair for a weekend
  • Cleaned up the apartment
  • Met my financial consultant
  • Had a Cthulhu pen and paper sessions

It’s clear that we all have sometimes other stuff to do.

Priorities

I guess it’s all about urgencies, AND what you ‘get’ from going after your goals. Of course, I want to achieve a certain level, of course I want to go step by step towards the shining, bright medal of awesomeness. Sometimes we just must do a reality check. If it doesn’t feel right, why stress yourself out? I don’t have to be in Japan in two weeks, so I don’t need the additional stress.My first priority is: being happy.

Time management

But I have to be honest here. I could have done better, that’s true. If I am too tired in the afternoon/evening from work and need some leisure time, why not learning Japanese in the morning? As I am writing this sentence, it’s 6:30 a.m. and it’s alright. So, maybe another part of the challenge should be getting up earlier in the morning, so that I can fulfill more workload. 🙂 It’s definitely worth a try and will form a habit that grows over time. My absolute goal would be to get up at 5 a.m. every morning. I did this several times before, and it’s AMAZING how much time you have on your hands then. Well, that’s all for now.

So, I will take this time and spend it on the stuff I want to get done then 🙂 Have a great week you all!

2 thoughts on “Priorities (Challenge week 02)

  1. I tend to wake up early, due to the need to run interception on whichever daughter rises first… 5:30 – 5:45 is a common time for them. But normally all I have to do is fire up the computer or dig out the lego for them. Instead of doing something for myself, I tend to slack off on the internet, which I am trying to cut down of because like you said, that morning time is an excellent chance to be really productive

    1. Oh yes, we all now how it goes. It’s hard in the morning to do something else than mindlessly waking up. I have many things on my plate so far, I need to cut back some stuff and focus more, I hope things get better in December, this months is absolutely stuffed with meetings, meet-ups and other stuff. But rising early can make a huge difference. Maybe you can start another routine? Like doing squats while the coffee is brewing etc? 🙂

Leave a Reply

